The Soup Story

I occasionally consider my mother as a super duper angry lady.Okay lets just say one odd day in three months.Once in a blue moon my mother suddenly realizes an odd thing and OMG!! that means we are all in great trouble.
This Monday my mother suddenly realized that I have turned 21 now and I don’t take any specific interest in the household chores,cleaning,laundry and on top of the list COOKING.(Okay I do admit that I am not much interested in cooking but that doesn’t mean I can’t do it.I can make all sorts of tea,noodles,a few cakes,a few limited traditional dishes and yeah the best achievement so far,I can make yummy crispy french fries 😉 .Although I don’t get the cooking thing very good at the first place but I guess it happens with everybody).
Anyways so I was assigned the job to make Cabbage Soup for the dinner and was supposed to show up for work at 6:00pm sharp.

Normally I am not habitual of sleeping in the afternoons but yeah I do sleep sometimes.I kept my eyes wide maasiopen,drank a lot of water so that peeing again and again would refrain me from sleeping 🙂 but finally all my tries were in vain and my dreams caught me tight at 5:45pm.Time passed by and the clock crossed 6pm and then 6:15pm and so on.My dreams loosened their grip at 6:30pm and I rushed bare footed towards the kitchen,”Oh my! My mommy is so gonna kill me”,I exclaimed to myself.Luckily my mother was no where to be found in the kitchen.Wow-sh,a moment of relief,I took a deep breath and started working.I’ve never felt more of a Chef before.

Okay so I’ve got the chicken stock out from the fridge,my chicken all set into tiny little thread shaped pieces,the cabbages’ all ready,the salts and peppers equally done.Finally now it’s time to give some viscosity,Oh yeah here comes the cornflour.

To my surprise,the soup was still very runny even after adding enough amount of cornflour.I am not very prone to cooking disasters and never had any experience to deal with them so the last and the least thing I could do was just calling my mother.
“Mama! Can you please come and have a look at the consistency of the soup for me?

Mama: I am sick and hell tired of you all,Don’t you eat the same soup everyday?? Don’t you even know how it looks? Haven’t you even noted it’s consistency for once in your life?. I don’t know anything, just do it and make exactly how you see it everyday.”
Hahh .. That was enough of an answer I guess.So, I kept on adding more and more of cornflour and guess what??

Nothing happened.It’s consistency was still the same as flowing water with a fried egg floating on it.I had a hard time dishing it out and serving it.Its mere look was nothing more than an utmost disappointment.

I didn’t dish it out for myself because I knew how it really was 🙂 Instead I stood by the side of the wall so that nobody could see me but only I could hear what they have to say about the so called SOUP…. Surprisingly, there was not even a single word.After a few moments I gathered my senses and settled at the dinning.

 

There was no point of thinking that there might not be any flaw in the soup because I could clearly see how runny it was,the chicken was all dissolved because of over-boiling and the cabbage all settled at the bottom,the egg took the form of huge clusters and the salt was no where to be found.Suddenly my mother’s statement broke my thought bubbles.bs

“Mama: If only you could have added more cornflour.Did you even add the cabbage or chicken??

Me: You should have told me before.I mean I am not the Chef of a 5 star Hotel or something,I am just an inexperienced kid.
Dad: Okay okay silence! The soup is just marvelous.”

pot
I smiled at the way my Dad tried to cheer me up but since I knew he was lying so that wasn’t just enough.
Everybody ate to their fullest and to the extreme height of my amusement,nobody left the soup in their plates or even the soup pot.While I was busy in analyzing the whole lot that has just happened,my little brother came to me and said:
“You know the Soup was all good but it just had only one flaw.It was so not viscous,Otherwise it would have been a blast.”
I couldn’t say a word in reply,Instead I just smiled and said to myself “Hah! What a supportive family I’ve got”,and pushed myself back to the cleaning stuff.

Today yet again.I was assigned the same Soup Maker Job,I made into the kitchen sharp at 6:00pm like a boss :). Did everything with utmost confidence that I could ever have.I still can’t figure out how did that happen but I felt wonderful :). My lil brother came again and asked:

“Hmm so what are you making today?
Me: Yet another soup.
He: Oh! so a perfect edition this time?
Me: Yeah hopefully. 🙂 “

Then I got my chicken perfectly done.

chicken-for-soup-300x225

The cabbage perfectly cut,but I cut that into big squares so that it would float in the soup.

vabb

A tempting accidental picture inside the pot when I ended up adding the cabbage to it.

makin

Here’s what the steam does to your camera when you almost to place the camera in the pot and try to capture what’s cooking inside (the lens all covered with steam and the picture blurred). 🙂

blurr

And finally I was so happy with it’s consistency that I felt like kissing the cornflour and screaming on top of my lungs. 🙂done

And so here’s the time to serve and eat.Don’t you want it too?

serbe

And Yeah! Finally I realize and admit that whatever mothers do is always for the benefit and well being of their little ones.My mother wanted me to do things well,So she scolded me,She punished me and so here I am now.

Weakly Writing Challenge.

 

6 Comments

  1. Assalmu’alaikum
    This had me laughing! I can relate, lol. 😀
    Masha’Allah the soup’s looking great! I’m sure your mom must’ve been proud of you. 😉

    Like

    1. Wa’alikum as salaam 🙂
      JazakAllah for your words and your precious time .. My mother had been much happier since this soup story 🙂

      Like

Write what you feel..