Trusting your Instincts

It’s been a long time since I’ve written something, although I have been thriving to write something for weeks but I just couldn’t. Half of the reason is my exams and half because I am not in a good form these days.
Thinking a lot is something really normal for me but these days I am getting nervous and pretty much sensitive over ill issues that

The little instinct bulb in your head.
The little instinct bulb in your head.

never seemed to bother me before. I dunno the reason but things are happening this way since a short period of time.
A week ago while solving my paper in the examination hall I was overwhelmed by a dozen thoughts. I have a strange urge of common sense that wakes up only in the examination hall and unfortunately that strange common sense says exactly opposite of what I’ve been studying and what I’ve been writing in my paper. While attempting a question I just closed my eyes, (metaphorically speaking) trusted my common sense (which seriously sucks at times) and went on with whatever I had in mind. But throughout the writing thingy I had a strange sense that something’s like not so well. Just like something pricking me from inside time to time again and again and I ignored that. When I came back home … Opened my lecture notebook … I found out that I have attempted the question entirely wrong. That was the most disappointing moment because I’ve been studying really hard for days. I was disappointed because I ignored my self first.
After that exam this word is fully stuck in my mind “INSTINCTS”. I should have trusted my instincts. I ruined my own toil just because I didn’t trust myself. Disappointing indeed.

From that day and specifically that exam I learned that

Whatever the first thing, the first instinct comes into your mind is always right.

It might not be a hard and fast rule but I have started believing that.
I don’t know instincts are voices from your heart?? … Your mind?? … Your soul?? .. Or your inner fears?? Or what??
I just can’t decide. But whatever they are they say the truth. I have started believing that

If you feel in your heart and soul that something is wrong then IT PROBABLY IS.

Okay … So in the process of trusting my instincts in my next exam I came to a point like this

I've got loads of problems.
I’ve got loads of problems.

Yes I know I’ve got a lot of problems. 🙂 In situations like this what I did was just blindly following the first thought. Ask yourself questions. That isn’t easy, because several thoughts will flood your mind at once. For instance, let’s say you’re looking at a menu. In figuring out what you want, pick out the first thing that stands out to you. Ignore the remainder of your thoughts, like for example: “But I didn’t even look at the specials” or “But my friend is on a diet and I’ll feel bad eating this in front of him” or “But my uncle said the mashed potatoes he had here were too mushy” etc. Don’t dwell on it.

The little instinctive me inside my head.
The little instinctive me inside my head.

Just pick something. It might be scary, because what if you make the wrong choice? Do not worry, you will be fine.
May be my innocent instincts get confused just because I am confused as well.
Instincts are the little voices, no matter how feeble they are.. They can still guide you or haunt you. You just gotta recognize them, differentiate them and simply trust them.
I have come to a point where trusting them is the only option I am left with but I am still not truly able it understand what they need to say, where are they leading me – nobody knows. May be they are something associated with the 6th sense or your fears??

They call it the “Gut Feeling”
Studies say that you experience a certain type of discomfort in your gut when you know a decision is wrong.
I’ve never noticed that but I’ll probably start noticing from now onwards.
A quote says:

Trust yourself, your instincts, what you believe. You know more than what you think you do.

Trust your instincts, listen to the voice inside you and trust that you’re doing the right thing.

But the question is … That if you yourself don’t trust yourself- your instincts, who on earth is gonna do it then???

2 thoughts on “Trusting your Instincts

Add yours

  1. Your post reminded me of the hadith of Prophet Muhammad (saws),

    “Consult your heart. Righteousness is that about which the soul feels tranquil and the heart feels tranquil, and sin is what creates restlessness in the soul…” (Hadith Nawawi, 27)

    I’m not sure how this is related to instincts but there seems to be a connection somewhere. In my opinion the “gut feeling” that we usually get is in reality a sign from Allah which helps us make the right choice. It can be difficult at times to actually come to a final decision but you just gotta place your complete trust in Allah and go with what you feel is right.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much Yusra .. JazakAllah for sharing such a beautiful piece of information here. 🙂
    Our instincts, 6th sense, sense of satisfaction and restlessness are clear little indications from Allah.

    But the thing which confuses me most of the time in this Hadith is that for an extreme sinful person his pleasures and his satisfaction would be his sins. There is a point where your mind looses the differentiating line between right and wrong. For those situations isn’t your heart feeling the wrong sense of tranquility??

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

plasticsouls

We stand against the Crimson Window , drowning in obscurity

Poetic Bliss

Warmth. Poetry. Laughter.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Thoughts of Amana

Share your thoughts with Amana

The Odd, Little Happy

Finally I dance with confidence to songs

Views Splash!

||||Splash Ur Views!||||

Immature Fruit

Poetry, Travels, Sketches, Writings and a Sip of Inspiration with Passion.

Life Is Like That

In between times, seeking the extraordinary in the ordinary

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Joy Makon

new watercolor paintings

Ideas don't work

until you do

So Not Simple ©

The Words seem Loud as I stay Quiet... Because writing is Easy while Talking is NOT ...

