The Threshold to Dream …

A week ago few of my friends planned a hangout together and on our way back the sun was slowly moving down towards its set. I can’t keep my eyes off the sky every time it happens. I can sit and stare at the sky, the sun for hours and hours until it’s all dark. A friend of mine noticed my eyes and said;

“Sunsets always seem very depressing to me, I dunno why but they drag away every pinch of energy that I am left with. When I was a kid and I was told to draw something in  my drawing classes I always use to draw sunrise, many of my classmates preferred drawing sunsets but they were depressing”

Apart from the fact that there is always a difference in opinions, I still exclaimed: “Sunsets …. And depressing???? …. I can never think like that”. I was among those students who would sacrifice my lunch breaks just to make a sunset on a piece of paper, who would spend hours and hours just rubbing the yellow and orange color on paper to make a color sequence like the ones during sunset.

I live near a beach so I frequently get a chance to see the sunsets and sunrise (Okay! Lets just say once in a week for sunset because I am mostly sleeping at that time … And then lets just say once in a month for sunrise as I am sleeping at that time as well 😛 ). I am not at all an outgoing person so despite my immense love for sunsets I still don’t prefer visiting the beach to enjoy the entire view, I rather prefer being fascinated by watching it through a window or the terrace.

Finally one day my mom forced me to go for a walk with her along the beach side. Although I hate going for a walk or exercising still the reason why I went was only the SUNSET. I mean i am just 39kgs at an age of 21.. So I don’t actually quality for the exercise thing OR do I?? ..I don’t think so …. I decided to go but only if my mom walks alone and allow me to roam around the beach all by myself.

As I thought and as expected .. I stood near the shore watching the sun till it seemed to touch the earth with all its glory and all its might. Initially it seemed somewhat like this

WP_002477

The Nature painted it Right.

 

They say introverts are nature loving but is there anybody on earth who doesn’t Love nature?? … I don’t think so.

I didn’t had much time except just an hour to enjoy what i thrived for. And yes the most fascinating part of sunset just lasts for hardly 15-20 minutes. A few things in life are not meant to stay for long, and this uniqueness enhances their preciousness. You know they’ll be gone but you are still willing to stay, you still long, you still have a deep desire for them, you still can’t stay away and you just can’t pretend to walk away.

The sky grew darker and darker with time spreading the beautiful shades of oranges and yellows as it descended downwards. It seemed more like a painting but it wasn’t. The smoky white shades of clouds on the sky seemed more like paint strokes and I so wished that some day I will be able to make a Perfect Fascinating Sunset like this. But no matter how much a human struggles he/she can never ever create what nature has already created. Humans can only mimic. Humans can only discover … It’s the nature , It’s the Lord which invents .. Humans only discover what’s already been created.

Beauty as I see.

Beauty as I see.

I see a whole new world … a rush of thoughts … an urge to learn, to discover while observing sunsets. It’s not just a game of colors and the sun moving up and down, It has it’s own roots it’s own hidden meaning.

I have a hundred thoughts.

I have a hundred thoughts.

Now it’s up to the other person to interpret it the way they want, the way they think.

I have a hundred things going on in my mind while watching sunsets. They remind me of hope .. a hope to find the way to leap, to leap,to creep, to crawl round a doubtful way.

It gives me a sense of commitment. A silence commitment that says “Although I am leaving but I’ll be back right away”, It fulfills its words every morn and there is not even a single day when it betrays.

A few things are not merely seen they are FELT. The thing that appeals and attracts you the most to beauty is the fact that it penetrates your soul.

There is nothing more musical than a sunset. He who feels what he sees will find no more beautiful example of development in all that book which, Alas, musicians read but too little – The Book of Nature.

– Claude Debussy.

The sunsets give me a sheer determination … The courage of resilience, the ability to stand and follow whatever is meant for you.

It gives a last indication to find your way before darkness prevails and blocks your vision.

They remind you that no matter how lost you feel today .. There’s always a tomorrow, for hoping has no end.

They give you a chance to commit, for nights are meant for promises. (Mmm … I can probably write a poem on this line … But somewhat later)

There’s a reason sunsets are timeless and constant standbys of poets, writers and romantics — they’re inspiring. Mahatma Gandhi observed this power when he said, “When I admire the wonders of a sunset or the beauty of the moon, my soul expands in the worship of the creator.”

They make you feel that the time has slowed down. It’s not that the clock stops, its just that your perception of time slows down.

They give us a Threshold to Dream , a Threshold to hide .. For darkness is where we all hide.

They force all life forms to go back to where they belong, For it’s never too late to go home.

It's never too late to go Home.

It’s never too late to go Home.

 Weekly Writing Challenge: Threshold

 

He who feels what he sees will find no more beautiful example of development in all that book which, alas, musicians read but too little – the book of Nature.
Read more at http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/quotes/c/claudedebu204275.html#tOrwGg6ddak39QCr.99
13 thoughts on “The Threshold to Dream …

  1. Sunset for me .. somehow takes me to the point where i start analyzing my life, what i did , why and what for, It brings thoughts and it takes me very near to Allah.
    Anyway … Brilliant pictures and post.
    May Allah bless you ameen

    Like

  2. Pingback: From old to new | Words 'n Pics

Leave a Reply

